Group photo of Gallatin Democrats and Candidates at the 2019 MSU Homecoming Parade

Online Candidate Forums 2020

While practicing physical distancing, we still want to inform our community about candidates. In that spirit, we shifted to online candidate forums for the time being. Click below for event details or video recordings of candidate forums/debates hosted by the Gallatin County Democrats. 

2020 Democratic Candidates

Click on each office/group below to see who is running and a link to their website. Our list starts with county races, as we work from the bottom of the ballot up.  View important election dates, check your voter registration status, or read about frequently asked questions to learn more about the 2020 election in Gallatin County. 

Gallatin County Commissioner

Zach Brown (Bozeman) –

Gallatin County Clerk of District Court

Sandy Erhardt (Bozeman) –

MT Senate District 31

Christopher Pope (Bozeman) –

MT House District 61

Jim Hamilton (Bozeman) (incumbent) –

MT House District 62

Ed Stafman (Bozeman) –

MT House District 63

Alice Buckley (Bozeman) –

MT House District 64

Brian Popiel (Bozeman) –

MT House District 65

Kelly Kortum (Bozeman) –

MT House District 66 

Denise Hayman (Bozeman) (incumbent) –

MT House District 67

Colette Campbell (Belgrade) –

MT House District 68

Claire Broling (Bozeman) – no website to date

MT House District 69

No Democratic candidate

Attorney General

Raph Graybill (Great Falls, MT) –

Auditor, Commissioner Securities, and Insurance

Shane Morigeau (Missoula, MT) –

Secretary of State

Bryce Bennett (Missoula, MT) –

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Melissa Romano (Helena, MT) –

Public Service Commission – District 2

Valerie McMurtry (Billings, MT) –

Public Service Commission – District 3

Tom Woods (Bozeman, MT) –

Public Service Commission – District 4

Monica Tranel (Missoula, MT) –

Our Mission

The Gallatin Democrats champion our county to be a healthy, diverse, and inclusive community by facilitating the grassroots empowerment and election of Democrats!

We strive to be the confluence of Democratic values and actions through Gallatin County.